Close Close

Regulation and Compliance > State Regulation > NASAA

Beatty Begins 1-Year Term as NASAA President

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

Washington Securities Director William Beatty on Tuesday began a one-year term as president of the North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA), replacing Andrea Seidt.

Beatty, who has been serving as president-elect over the past year, said at NASAA’s annual conference in Indianapolis that he intends to expand NASAA’s ongoing initiatives focused on protection of senior investors, especially those with diminished capacity and technology, with an emphasis on the launch in November of electronic state filing of Form D for Rule 506 offerings.

NASAA’s electronic filing system, called EFD, will interface with the SEC’s EDGAR system to, among other things, receive Form D notice filings and collect fees on behalf of the states.

The current EFD system is scheduled to deploy in November.

Beatty also announced NASAA’s new Board of Directors, including President-elect Judith Shaw of Maine; past president Andrea Seidt of Ohio; Melanie Lubin, Maryland; Joseph Borg, Alabama; Kathryn Daniels, Ontario, Gerald Rome, Colorado; Michael Rothman, Minnesota; and Daphne Smith, Tennessee.

He has also asked the following administrators to serve as chairs of NASAA’s sections: Heath Abshure, Arkansas, Corporation Finance; Lynne Egan, Montana, Investor Education; Bryan Lantagne, Massachusetts, Broker-Dealer; Owen Lefkon, Delaware, Enforcement; and Patricia Struck, Wisconsin, Investment Advisor.