Close Close

Practice Management > Diversity and Inclusion

FPA Names Three Diversity Scholarship Winners for FPA Denver 2010

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

The Financial Planning Association (FPA) has named its 2010 Diversity Scholarship winners, recognizing top nominees who are working to expand diversity in the financial planning profession, the organization said in a statement on Friday. The merit-based scholarship recipients earn a one-year FPA membership and free registration and travel expenses to FPA Denver 2010, which will be held in Denver October 9-12.

The 2010 FPA Diversity Scholarship recipients are Leighann Miko from Los Angeles;

Lanta Evans-Motte from Seabrook, Md.; and Julian Johnson from Dublin, Pa.

FPA’s criteria for scholarship applicants include demonstrating and acting upon an intense desire to promote diversity in the financial planning profession, including but not limited to:

  • Raising awareness of the profession in diverse communities;
  • Serving diverse communities with financial planning;
  • Increasing professional opportunities for diverse communities within the financial planning profession.

“One of FPA’s goals is to find more ways to encourage diversity within the financial planning community to embrace more unique ideas and perspectives,” Marv Tuttle, FPA’s executive director and chief executive, said in the statement. “The FPA Diversity Scholarship winners this year share our commitment to promote a financial planning environment that embraces diversity for both consumers and professionals.”

Winners were chosen by a special FPA task force dedicated to increasing diversity opportunities within the organization and the communities it serves.

The Diversity Scholarship Program is sponsored by the FPA Diversity Committee, whose mission is to develop strategies to raise awareness and promote inclusiveness of diverse communities of consumers and professionals, the statement said.