Close Close
Popular Financial Topics Discover relevant content from across the suite of ALM legal publications From the Industry More content from ThinkAdvisor and select sponsors Investment Advisor Issue Gallery Read digital editions of Investment Advisor Magazine Tax Facts Get clear, current, and reliable answers to pressing tax questions
Luminaries Awards

Financial Planning > Charitable Giving

TD Ameritrade's Skip Schweiss Named 2020 FPA President-Elect

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

Skip Schweiss, president of TD Ameritrade Trust Company has been named the 2020 Financial Planning Association’s president-elect.

Schweiss, who also is managing director of advisor advocacy and industry affairs for TD Ameritrade Institutional, will serve a one-year term beginning Jan. 1, succeeding Martin Seay, who will replace Evelyn Zohlen as president.

Schweiss is currently completing a three-year term on the FPA board of directors.

“I’m thrilled and honored to assume this leadership role in the leading membership association for financial planning professionals,” Schweiss said in a statement. “Throughout my career, I’ve been able to serve the financial planning community and long ago came to admire the profession and the passion of its practitioners. As we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the profession, I look forward to working with, and on behalf of, my fellow FPA members to elevate the profession that transforms lives through the power of financial planning.”

FPA has also elected four new members to its board of directors, with each new member serving a three-year term beginning Jan. 1.

The new board members are:

  • Robert van Beek, founder and director of About Life & Finance B.V., Roosendaal, the Netherlands.
  • Susan Danzig, president of Susan Danzig LLC, Moraga, California
  • Claudia Cypher Kane, financial advisor at Raymond James Financial Services, Roseville, California
  • Carl Wayne, senior advisor, Charitable Estate Planning at the American Heart Association, Los Angeles.

The FPA Board also elected new leaders of FPA NexGen, the community for more than 2,500 new financial planning professionals.

FPA members assuming leadership positions Jan. 1 are:

  • Joseph Stemmle, 2020 FPA NexGen president-elect;
  • Michelle J. Wong, 2020 FPA NexGen local leader coordinator; and
  • Diana Yanez, candidate for CFP certification, 2020 NexGen gathering coordinator

“We are delighted to welcome Joey, Michelle and Diana to the NexGen national leadership team. These leaders have not only shown an understanding of the current priorities and vision of NexGen, but have also each expressed thoughtful ideas of how to increase the awareness and impact of NexGen,” said 2019 NexGen President Autumn K. Campbell in a statement. “We are privileged to have such committed volunteers raise their hands to donate their energy and expertise towards our vibrant and growing community.”


© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.