The Minnesota Department of Commerce has established education requirements for producers who want to participate in the Minnesota Long-Term Care Insurance Partnership Program.
Minnesota LTC partnership program producers must complete at least 8 hours of initial training by Jan. 1, 2008, and at least 4 hours of additional training every 24 months, Glenn Wilson, Minnesota insurance commissioner, writes in Minnesota Bulletin 2007-4.
Producers can get their first 8 hours of training in any state with partnership program training, but they must demonstrate knowledge of the Minnesota’s Medicaid program, Wilson writes.
An LTC partnership program permits participants to use qualified LTC coverage to keep some or all of their assets in case they exhaust the private LTC benefits and end up needing Medicaid nursing home benefits.
Federal law once let only four states offer LTC partnership programs, but the federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 gave all states permission to start partnership programs.
The same federal law requires state insurance departments to ensure that producers selling partnership coverage understand the coverage.
A copy of the Minnesota LTC partnership training program bulletin is available