Close Close
Popular Financial Topics Discover relevant content from across the suite of ALM legal publications From the Industry More content from ThinkAdvisor and select sponsors Investment Advisor Issue Gallery Read digital editions of Investment Advisor Magazine Tax Facts Get clear, current, and reliable answers to pressing tax questions
Luminaries Awards

Regulation and Compliance > Federal Regulation > SEC

Former SEC Chief Walter Joins Investor Advisory Committee

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

The Securities and Exchange Commission said Tuesday that three new members have been appointed to its Investor Advisory Committee, including former SEC Chairwoman and commissioner Elisse Walter.

The two other new members are John Coates, the John F. Cogan Jr. professor of law and economics at Harvard Law School, and Nancy LeaMond, executive vice president and chief advocacy & engagement officer of AARP.

“The Commission and investors have significantly benefited from the service of the members of the Committee,” said SEC Chairwoman Mary Jo White, in a statement. “They work hard and have compiled an impressive body of work on a wide range of important issues. Their vigorous commitment to investor interests, investor confidence, and the integrity of the securities marketplace is very important and much appreciated.”

The committee also announced it has reappointed the following members:

  • Stephen Holmes, general partner emeritus, InterWest Partners
  • Barbara Roper, Director of Investor Protection, Consumer Federation of America
  • Kurt Schacht, Managing Director, CFA Institute;
  • Anne Sheehan, Director of Corporate Governance, California State Teachers’ Retirement System;
  • Damon Silvers, Director of Policy and Special Counsel, AFL-CIO.

Other members of the Investor Advisory Committee include SEC Investor Advocate Rick Fleming as well as SEC commissioner nominee Hester Peirce, who’s a senior research fellow at Mercatus Center at George Mason University.

Members of the committee serve a four-year term.

While the Senate Banking Committee approved by voice vote on May 20 the two new SEC commissioner nominees, Lisa Fairfax and Peirce, the full Senate has yet to confirm them.

The next Investor Advisory Committee meeting is scheduled for Thursday.

— Check out SEC to Put Investors’ Understanding of 12b-1 Fees to the Test on ThinkAdvisor.


© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.