Close Close

Life Health > Health Insurance > Your Practice

Texas insurance commish appoints health form committee

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

Texas Commissioner of Insurance Julia Rathgeber has appointed a committee of health care professionals to advise her on the technical, operational, and practical aspects of developing a standard form for requesting prior authorization of health care services. The Advisory Committee for the Standard Request Form for Prior Authorization of Medical Care and Health Care Services was created by Senate Bill 1216 (83rd Legislature).

“I would like to thank each of these professionals for agreeing to serve on this new advisory committee,” Commissioner Rathgeber said. “The Texas Department of Insurance depends on the public service of individuals like these to fulfill its regulatory mission.”

The following appointees (listed alphabetically) will serve terms that expire Sept. 1, 2015:

  • William Brendel, Corpus Christi, Medical Director for Driscoll Health Plan
  • Adam Carter, Dallas, Medical Director for Adam C. Carter, MD PA
  • Allan Chernov, Irving, Medical Director of Medical Policy and Quality for Blue Cross Blue Shield of Texas
  • Michael Chiu, Dallas, Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center 
  • Michele Chulick, Dallas, Executive Vice President of Corporate Services for Children’s Medical Center Dallas
  • Robin Clearman, Sugar Land, Occupational Therapist and owner of Wishing Well Pediatric Therapy
  • Stacey Cropley, Kyle, Director of Practice for Texas Nurses Association
  • Laurie Donovan, Austin, Marriage and Family Therapist
  • John Everett, Snyder, Chief Financial Officer for Cogdell Memorial Hospital
  • David Harmon, Austin, Chief Medical Director for Superior Health Plan
  • Karol Hopkins, Round Rock, Regional Access Director for Baylor Scott & White Healthcare
  • Sheryl Innerarity, Austin, Associate Professor for Clinical Nursing at the University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing
  • Bruce Levy, Austin, Chief Executive Officer for Austin Gastroenterology
  • Darlene Metter, San Antonio, Professor of Radiology at the University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio
  • Charles Morris, Friendswood, Vice President and Regional Chief Medical Officer for Humana Senior Products Texas Region
  • Johnna Nerios, San Antonio, Director of Ambulatory Services for Santa Rosa Health System
  • Todd Pickard, Houston, Program Director for the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Darla Porter, Lubbock, Nurse Practitioner in Oncology for Covenant Health System
  • Aashish Shah, Bellaire, Medical Director for Community Health Choice, Inc.
  • Elizabeth Seymour, Corinth, Family Medicine Physician for Medical Associates of Denton

See also: