Close Close
Popular Financial Topics Discover relevant content from across the suite of ALM legal publications From the Industry More content from ThinkAdvisor and select sponsors Investment Advisor Issue Gallery Read digital editions of Investment Advisor Magazine Tax Facts Get clear, current, and reliable answers to pressing tax questions
Luminaries Awards

Life Health > Health Insurance > Your Practice

NAIC Elects 2012 Officers

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

Members of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) today elected its 2012 officers:

President: Florida Insurance Commissioner Kevin M. McCarty President-Elect: Louisiana Insurance Commissioner James J. Donelon Vice President: North Dakota Insurance Commissioner Adam Hamm Secretary-Treasurer: Montana Commissioner of Securities and Insurance Monica J. Lindeen The newly elected officers will assume their duties on Jan. 1, 2012.

Kevin M. McCarty is the Commissioner of the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation. McCarty became Florida’s first appointed insurance commissioner in January 2003. He is responsible for Florida’s insurance market, including oversight of company solvency, policy forms and rates, market investigations and new insurance business. McCarty began his career in public service in 1988, becoming an expert in workers’ compensation issues with the Florida Department of Labor and Employment Security. McCarty earned a bachelor’s degree in political science and a J.D. from the University of Florida.

James J. Donelon was appointed Louisiana Insurance Commissioner in February 2006 and has been elected three times to the position. A retired State Judge Advocate for the Louisiana Army National Guard, Donelon’s career at the Department of Insurance includes serving as Chief Deputy Commissioner and Executive Counsel. He is also a former Parish Council Chairman and State Representative where he chaired the Committee on Insurance. Donelon is a graduate of the University of New Orleans and Loyola School of Law.

Adam Hamm was appointed North Dakota Insurance Commissioner in October 2007 and was elected to a four-year term in November 2008. He currently serves as Chair of the NAIC Life Insurance and Annuities Committee, and Chair of NAIC’s Audit Committee. Prior to becoming commissioner, he served as a prosecutor for the Cass County State’s Attorney’s office. Hamm also worked as an attorney in private practice specializing in commercial litigation, administrative agency law and transportation law. Hamm is a graduate of Sam Houston State University and received his Juris Doctorate degree with distinction from the University of North Dakota School of Law in 1998.

Monica J. Lindeen was elected Commissioner of Securities and Insurance, Montana State Auditor in November 2008. Lindeen is Vice-Chair of the NAIC Health Insurance and Managed Care Committee, chair of the NAIC Designation Program Advisory Board, a member of the NAIC Executive Committee and Audit Committee, and serves on a number of task forces related to implementing health insurance reform. Lindeen served in the Montana House of Representatives from 1999-2006. From 1994-1996, she was a part-time faculty member in the Montana State University (MSU) Billings English Department and taught simultaneously as a graduate assistant in the Department of Educational Foundations. Lindeen earned a bachelor’s degree in English/History from MSU Billings.


© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.