Close Close

Life Health > Running Your Business

New Officers Take Reins At NAIC

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

Roger Sevigny has succeeded Sandy Praeger as president of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

Sevigny, the New Hampshire commissioner, took office here at the winter meeting of the NAIC, Kansas City, Mo.

Sevigny said ensuring solvency and protecting consumers are part of one interrelated focus, not two separate goals.

The other 2009 NAIC officers are Jane Cline of West Virginia, the president-elect; Susan Voss of Iowa, the vice president; and Kevin McCarty of Florida, the secretary-treasurer.

In related news:

- Sevigny said of NAIC efforts to create a rating agency that there is not yet a proposal to vet. The NAIC plans to file a broad application with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission rather than a limiting application, Sevigny said.

The NAIC also named the new geographic zone teams for 2009:

Northeastern Zone

Steven Goldman — Chair, New Jersey

Thomas Sullivan — Vice Chair, Connecticut

Joel Ario — Secretary, Pennsylvania

Southeastern Zone

Scott Richardson — Chair, South Carolina

Leslie Newman — Vice Chair, Tennessee

Jim Donelon — Secretary, Louisiana

Midwestern Zone

Kim Holland — Chair, Oklahoma

Sean Dilweg — Vice Chair, Wisconsin

Merle Scheiber — Secretary, South Dakota

Western Zone

Linda Hall — Chair, Alaska

Kent Michie — Vice Chair, Utah

Mo Chavez — Secretary, New Mexico


© 2023 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.