The Financial Planning Association announced November 12 that Richard Salmen of GTrust Financial Partners in Overland Park, Kansas, is the president-elect of the 29,000-member planners’ association for 2008. Mark Johannessen becomes president, while Nick Nicolette becomes chair of the group.

Six new board members have also been elected: Paul Auslander of American Financial Advisors in Orlando; Lee Baker of Apex Financial in Tucker, Georgia; Stephen D. Johnson of Johnson Marotta in Palo Alto, California; Deena Katz of Texas Tech University and Evensky & Katz in Coral Gables, Florida (and a member of the Investment Advisor Leaders Council); Karin Maloney Stifler of True Wealth Advisors in Hudson, Ohio; and Ken Ziesenheim of Thornburg Securities Corp. and Thornburg Investment Management (and a frequent IA contributor).