Matthew McAvoy is the new chairman of the National Association of Independent Life Brokerage Agencies.[@@]

McAvoy is president of Target Insurance Services Inc., Overland Park, Kan., according to NAILBA, Fairfax, Va.

McAvoy succeeded Kevin Merz, president of The Merz Agency Inc., Portland, Ore., at NAILBA’s annual convention in Phoenix.

Other new officers are John Felton of the Tennessee Brokerage Agency, Knoxville, Tenn., chairman-elect; Doug Mishkin of Algren Associates Inc., New York, treasurer; and Gary Dworkin of Dworkin Associates Inc., Rochester, N.H., secretary.

At the Phoenix meeting, NAILBA also presented Edward Murray of Murray and Zuckerman Inc., Schenectady, N.Y., with the association’s most prestigious award, the Mooers Award.