Close Close

Life Health > Long-Term Care Planning

Actuaries choose new LTC future shapers

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

Members of the Society of Actuaries (SOA) have named Vincent Bodnar to be the chairperson of its long-term care section. 

Bodnar succeeded Robert Hanes as the section’s leader in October, at the SOA’s annual meeting in Austin, Texas. Hanes is a director and health actuary at KPMG.

Bodnar is chief actuary at LTCG. The new LTC section vice chairperson is Rebecca Tipton.

The new members of the section’s council are Marc Glickman, Robert Eaton, Shawna Meyer and Matthew Morton. Juliet Spector and Robert Yee will continue to serve as council members.

Christie Conway and John Cutler are now affiliate section council members.

Spector is the section’s newsletter editor, and Sue Sames is the section’s board partner.

The SOA LTC section has no direct, official role in changing the laws and regulations that apply to stand-alone long-term care insurance (LTCI) and other long-term care (LTC) planning products, but its studies and forums shape how insurance companies, regulators and others see the products.

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) and other legislative and regulatory bodies often use SOA data in their work.

See also: 5 ways Phyllis Shelton gets more out of the SOA LTCI data