Close Close

Financial Planning > Tax Planning

Who's Who in the 110th

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

With the democrats in control of Congress comes new committee assignments. For instance, the Senate Finance Committee is now headed by Max Baucus. The Montana Senator has said that he intends to repeal the Alternative Minimum Tax this year, and is encouraging the Government Accountability Office to push ahead with its broad review of the SEC’s Office of Compliance Inspections and Examination, and its enforcement unit. Rep. Charles Rangel of New York now heads the powerful House Ways and Means Committee, which has oversight over tax policy and Social Security.

In 2007, both the House and Senate Appropriations Committees will each have 12 subcommittees, including a new Financial Services and General Government panel, which will have jurisdiction over federal organizations such as the Treasury Department, the Federal Judiciary, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), and other related agencies.

Here are the 110th Congress’s chairmen:

U.S. Senate

Aging: Herb Kohl (Wisconsin)

Agriculture: Tom Harkin (Iowa)

Appropriations: Robert Byrd (West Virginia)

Armed Services: Carl Levin (Michigan)

Banking: Christopher Dodd (Connecticut)

Budget: Kent Conrad (North Dakota)

Commerce: Daniel Inouye (Hawaii)

Energy: Jeff Bingaman (New Mexico)

Environment Public Works: Barbara Boxer (California)

Finance: Max Baucus (Montana)

Foreign Relations: Joseph Biden (Delaware)

Health: Edward Kennedy (Massachusetts)

Homeland and Government Affairs: Joe Lieberman (Connecticut)

Joint Economic: Chuck Schumer (New York)

Judiciary: Patrick Leahy (Vermont)

Indian Affairs: Byron Dorgan (North Dakota)

Intelligence: Jay Rockefeller (West Virginia)

Small Business: John Kerry (Massachusetts)

Veterans: Daniel Akaka (Hawaii)

Rules: Dianne Feinstein (California)

U.S. House of Representatives

Agriculture: Collin Peterson (Minnesota)

Appropriations: Dave Obey (Wisconsin)

Armed Services: Ike Skelton (Missouri)

Budget: John Spratt (South Carolina)

Education and Labor: George Miller (California)

Energy and Commerce: John Dingell (Michigan)

Financial Services: Barney Frank (Massachusetts)

Foreign Affairs: Tom Lantos (California)

Homeland Security: Bennie Thompson (Mississippi)

House Administration: Juanita Millender-McDonald (California)

Judiciary: John Conyers (Michigan)

Natural Resources: Nick Rahall (West Virginia)

Oversight and Government Reform: Henry Waxman (California)

Rules: Louise Slaughter (New York)

Science and Technology: Bart Gordon (Tennessee)

Small Business: Nydia Velazquez (New York)

Transportation and Infrastructure: James Oberstar (Minnesota)

Veterans’ Affairs: Bob Filner (California)

Ways and Means: Charles Rangel (New York)


© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.