Close Close

Financial Planning > Behavioral Finance

FPA to Honor Elissa Buie, Deena and Harold, Elaine Bedel

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

The Financial Planning Association announced the recipients of its annual awards to be presented during its Oct. 19-21 FPA Experience annual conference. The honorees are led by noted advisor Elissa Buie, who will receive the P. Kemp Fain, Jr. award during the conference. That award goes each year to an individual who has made “outstanding contributions” to the profession in various areas, and is a public proponent of the group’s Core Values. It is named after pioneering planner Kemp Fain Jr., who was the first person to enroll in the CFP certification program, and was a leader in both the International Association for Financial Planning (IAFP) and the Institute of Certified Financial Planners (ICFP).

Buie is the president and CEO of Yeske Buie, a bicoastal planning firm in which she partners with fellow advisor industry leader Dr. Dave Yeske (they are partners in business as in life). The FPA announcement of the award calls Buie “a consistent force in the profession,” who first came to particular prominence in the founding of the FPA through the 2000 merger of the ICFP and the IAFP. She is a past chair of the FPA, a frequent writer on advisor topics, and is the current chair of the Foundation for Financial Planning.

FPA also announced the winners of the 2013 Heart of Financial Planning award, who are recognized for their contributions to the planning community and the public. This year’s award winners are planners and educators Elaine Bedel, Harold Evensky and Deena Katz, Kacy Gott and Savvy Ladies, a New York-based nonprofit that educates women about the importance of financial planning.