Close Close

Financial Planning > Behavioral Finance

FPA Sets Deadline for P. Kemp Fain Award

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

The Financial Planning Association called for nominations for its annual P. Kemp Fain, Jr., award, which recognizes an individual who “has made outstanding contributions to the financial planning profession in the areas of service to society, academia, government, and professional activities.” Besides playing a significant role in the planning community, nominees must also exemplify FPA’s Core Values of integrity, competence, relationships, and stewardship. The award will be presented at FPA Boston 2008 to be held October 4-7.

Nominations should be in the form of a one- to three-page letter describing why the individual should be considered sent by June 9, 2008 to:

P. Kemp Fain, Jr. Award

Financial Planning Association

Suite 400

4100 E. Mississippi Ave.

Denver, CO 80246

P. Kemp Fain formed the first International Association for Financial Planning (IAFP) chapter 1971 and served as its first president, and served as president and chair of the Institute of Certified Financial Planners (ICFP) from 1983 until 1985. Those two groups were the predecessor organizations for the FPA. He was also the first person to officially enroll in the CFP certification program and was a member of the inaugural class of CFPs in 1973.

Past winners of the award include William Anthes, Dick Wagner, Alexandra Armstrong, Ben Coombs, Bill Carter, and E. Denby Brandon.