In hopes of marking up a bill by the end of July, House Financial Services Committee Chairman Barney Frank (D-Massachusetts) has released a tentative hearing schedule to discuss the Obama Administration’s financial services reform plan. According to his committee, Frank is also working to reschedule the postponed hearing with Treasury Secretary Timothy Geithner, which was to occur on June 18, the same day Geithner testified before the Senate Banking Committee. Chairman Frank also noted that members should expect additional hearings and committee meetings on financial regulatory reform in September after the annual August district work period.

Following is a tentative House Financial Services Committee schedule:

Wednesday, June 24:

Full committee hearing on consumer

issues (10:00 a.m.)

Thursday, July 9:

Domestic Monetary Policy Subcommittee

hearing on the role of the Federal Reserve

(2:00 p.m.)

Friday, July 10: Full committee hearing on derivatives
Monday, July 13:

Full committee hearing on financial

regulation restructuring to hear from

academics and experts on the subject

Tuesday, July 14: Capital Markets Subcommittee hearing

on the Securities and Exchange Commission

Wednesday, July 15: Full committee hearing on financial

regulation restructuring

Thursday, July 16: Full committee hearing on financial

regulation restructuring

Friday, July 17: Full committee hearing on financial

regulation restructuring

Tuesday, July 21: Date held for the annual Humphrey-

Hawkins Semi-Annual Report of the

Federal Reserve on Monetary Policy

Wednesday, July 22: Full committee hearing on financial

regulation restructuring

Thursday, July 23: Date held for mark-up
Friday, July 24: Full committee hearing on financial

regulation restructuring

Wednesday, July 29: Date held for mark-up
Thursday, July 30: Date held for mark-up